The sixth parish-synagogue which is todays largest synagogue in Berlin was built in 1904.
It was designed by the architect of the Jewish parish Johann Hoeniger (1850-1913). The basilica with three naves was built in the style of Romanticism and looks similar to churches from the Mark Brandenburg. The front building with five floors used to have a hall, flats and a Sunday school. In the night between the 9th and the 10th of November 1938 the prayer hall and all Jewish symbols were destroyed by the Nazis and the Rabbi with its communion were transported to the concentration camp in Sachsenhausen. Supposedly during the Second World War the synagogue was used as a stable. In 1953 the synagogue was restored and re-opened then being the only one in use in the former GDR.
From 2004 to 2007 an elaborately refurbishment took place.
Since the reopening in August 2007, the synagogue offers again room for 1200 visitors during the liberal-conservative services.Due to the unique acoustics, cultural events in the place of worship are a special experience. Since 2008 there is in the Rykestraße 53, in the front part of the house, the Lauder Beth-Zion primary school.
Guided tours and visits are alimitedpossibility after prior registration.